Coral nutrition and growth - is light enough

r23guy009

Premium Member
Hi everyone -This is my first time posting here.I wanted to get some clarification regarding coral growth and nutrition. I heard some people saying that they have good growth with just good lighting and no supplements but I don't understand how corals, especially LPS with a lot more soft tissue mass, can survive long term only on good lighting. I understand that they get their energy source from the zooxanthellae but what about the raw building blocks for their soft tissue? Ca and Mg are of course supplemented but I can't see how tissue can grow without additives. The ocean has tons of micro organisms that they probably feed on so I imagine we need to create the same nutritious environment in our small piece of the ocean?Thanks everyone for their input!View attachment 2015

I dose Alk/Cal/Mag but I stopped feeding "coral food" a couple months ago. I just broadcast the Rod's original blend and all my corals still seem to be growing. That is my experience so far. I know some people dose other additives for growth and color but I am in no hurry as my tank needs to last me at least 5 more years before I upgrade lol.