Search results

1. N

Does any have any experience with Christmas tree worms?

Does any have any experience with Christmas tree worms? Are they beneficial? Thanks, Nick
  2. N

How do I get rid of Brown Diatoms?

I didn’t think my tank would cycle since I put water, sand and LR in from an established tank. However, I noticed a brown diatom bloom on Monday. How do I get rid of it? Should I leave it alone? I tested everything and all my levels are on the mark. Should I add power heads and do water 10%...
  3. N

Tips on setting up a Quarantine Tank?

Eventually I want to setup a quarantine tank. I wanted to keep it relatively simple and planned on getting a 24 Gallon Nano Cube since it is a all-in-one setup. I am new to saltwater and have heard that keeping a UV Sterilizer in a QT tank is a good move. Would you all agree? However, if I have...
  4. N

My Tank: After 2 Weeks!

First, I have got to thank Frank Perkins and Sam for their generosity. These guys spent hours helping me set everything up and answered all of my newbie questions. Frank even swung by last saturday to help me change a return hose out and lend advice to this complex but great hobby. This tank...
  5. N

How do you build a refugium/sump?

I see there are a lot of people that have been building their own sumps and refugiums. This inspired me to add an acrylic dividing wall to my oceanic sump last week at an attempt to make a small refugium. Needless to say, it didn’t work. First, I had no idea what I was doing. Secondly, I didn’t...
  6. N

Question on Mixing Saltwater?

Please bear with me here....I have never mixed saltwater before. After I get my mix and blend it with the water, is there anything else I need to do besides making sure everything is mixed well? Do I need to keep it circulating? Do I need to keep it heated? How much should I keep on hand at a time?
  7. N

Raising Misys Shrimp?