SPS Keepers (please chime in)

Did a few parameter tests after about 2 weeks of automated dosing 5ml every 3days of ESV B-Ionic 2 part, and had these results :

cal - 420 (hanna checker)
alk - 7.6 (hanna checker)
P04- 0.01 (hanna checker)
Mag - ~1460 (salifert)
SG - 1.026

Salt is Aquavitro Salinity 5g WC's every sunday

The tank is 8g with 20 long sump/fuge, and AI Nano and is SPS dominant but all are small frags. My concern is that my alk may be a bit low, what do you guys have as a target range or what have you found to work best ?

I am new to the SPS world and there are SO many conflicting threads that my head is spinning. Any help would be awsome.

Thanks in advance

Hi,
Your numbers are techically in range and you should not have a problem. Stability is better than trying to force a "good" number however, let your livestock help you decide. It's always good to include your daily PH average/swing in with the parm's but it is usually not something to worry about as long as the big three (Alk/Ca/Mg) are good.

Cheers,

Everything looks good for the most part. My issue is my blue torts, they are receeding from the base, it is super slow and only started when I lowered my lighting intensity to acclimate some new frags. I have started raisng my lights again but it seems that the popular alk # is around 9 so I want to make sure that with me being at 7.6 that im not harming anything.

Bimmerz is without doubt correct that stability is more important. My sps seem to do well at around 9 but definitely no higher. I think that with max water volume of 28 gallons I would only do a 2-3 gallon w/c weekly. Or at least make sure the big three values of the new salt water was closely matched to the tank. Also how about temp? Is it staying consistent? What kind of sps is receding? Do you have any fairly hardy sps like montis? If so how are they doing compared to the torte?