Salt Mix Help!

Jochoa

Premium Member
Well Ive been using Tropic Marin Pro for a year now with great success but I was thinking of maybe changing salts, due to price. Ive heard people say they have good results with Aquavitro Salinity, Kent Marine, and Red Sea Pro. Does anyone use any of these salts??? Any input.. Or shoul I just stick with TMP. My tanks are mixed sps, lps. Thanks

I started with the Red Sea Pro (after I quit buying salt water at the LFS) and used that for a long time. The last time I bought salt I decided to try the Aquavitro Salinity. I've been using it for probably 6 months now and it seems good but I'll probably go back to the Red Sea Pro next time. My tank just seemed... happier? with it and it's cheaper. I have a small tank, and not a lot of SPS corals, so your mileage may vary. [smilie=smile.gif]

If you use Salinity you need to use the complete Aquavitro line of chem as they work together for the best results... After speaking with Seachem at NW and MACNA they recommended; do not mix other brands of chem with this salt. Including other Seachem additives that are not AQ. I use and like the Seachem reef salt, but tested Salinity and did not have good results so switched back to reef salt... I have now switched my additives to AQ line so will be testing Salinity again with all Aquavitro products. But this is the most expensive product, so if you want to save $ I recommend the Seachem Reef Salt... $53... 200 gl box... free shipping from Foster and Smith.

I used Kent Reef Salt for years and never had a bad experience, but that's because I always measured the salinity, temperature and pH before doing a water change. Had I not tested pH I would have seriously damaged my reef because there was a bad run with very low alkalinity in the salt (nationwide problem). I talked about it in this article: http://www.melevsreef.com/node/1726