Lighting... where to start

Dewana

Membership Expired
Good Morning all! I am brand new to saltwater and am excited to join the group and attend some events. Seems I have ALOT to learn. :) My husband and I have alot of experience with fresh water tanks and saltwater pools, but this is a first. So I have the tank all picked out and set up and am now stuck on which lighting to get. I would like to invest in a quality system that will allow us to grow with the corals we choose as we learn, but WOW so many to choose from! We would like an automated system because we are still learning that has the sunrise/sunset/lunar option. It's a 100g canopy tank. so it has to be on the thinner side, 21 inches deep, 20 inches depth, 48 inches long. Any suggestions???

Well this and which skimmer do I buy are the most debated topics in the Saltwater world. If you ask 10 people what you think you should do you will get 4-5 different answers most likely. I would say your options are limited if you want to contain them inside a shallow canopy. Also IMO sunrise/sunset/lunar are nice options not needed, but easily obtained with some lighting and harder with others.
It also matters what you would like to or plan on keeping, if this is a fish only system and cheap lights will work but lets assume Full reef.
I would say your main lighting options are:

1. LEDS
2. MH
3.T5

I would recommend either ditching the canopy and get MH or put holes in the top of the canopy for the MH to sit on top. You could supplement the MH lighting with either T5 or VHO atentic lighting(I like VHO atentic). You would need two MH pendants to cover 48", also with supplement lighting you can use that for the Sunrise/sunset. Lastly if you use Lumen Bright pendants they need to sit 12” over the water but they make huge par, and transfer little heat.
You are going to get about 10 people tell you how great LEDs are how they don't add heat and how they pay for themselves in electric and cooling savings.