How do YOU prevent Ich?

As a newbie, I have been doing tons of research every step of the way. I find it extremely frustrating that there is nothing close to a consensus in the hobby on QT process and Ich Prevention/eradication. I thought I would take a poll to see if there is any sort of consensus locally. I figure it might be good to follow the local heard on this being that you are the guys I will be going to if something goes wrong!

What I should have done is quarantine everything before it goes into my tanks. In reality, I fell off that bus and just tried to get fish from folks I know in the club which worked well for the most part. I have, however, run into ich twice in the year I've been doing this and went through 6 weeks of hyposalinity treatment each time. Fortunately, those fish were not bound for my main tank and I vowed to not get a new fish until I got a permanent QT going after the most recent experience. I've been doing well on that so far and haven't made any new fish purchases. For corals, they get a Coral RX dip and then rinsed off with salt water before going in.

@MBSL55 wrote:
What I should have done is quarantine everything before it goes into my tanks. In reality said:
+1 I have a 20g QT setup and no fish will touch my system till it has sat in there for 30 days min. There is a great presentation from Matt stickied somewhere that explains all this I will find it when I get home and not on my phone if someone doesn't beat me to it

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk 2

I used to quarantine but I would still get it. I think it was in the rock that were attached to corals from various LFS. With the exception of a few fish, they mostly all survive. Would love a powder blue but I don't think I'll eve have one that does not die of ich.

Thanks for the responses so far. I wish more of the people viewing the thread would respond to the poll. [smilie=worried.gif]