Anyone switched from XM to Reeflux?

afishfanatic

Membership Expired
It is time to replace my bulbs again, so I am conseidereing a change. I recently went to visit a another member's tank (Servo) and was very impressed with the color of the sps corals. I have been running 250W XM's for about 3 years and have been happy with them. I originally chose them because of the PAR and CCT. The Reeflux seems to be getting very popular so I looked at the specs on Sonjay's site and found that the 250 watt version is not very impressive, low PAR and high CCT. Servo's tank is running 400W Reeflux that looked great without supplamentation. My concern with going with these bulbs is that even though I would be moving up from 250 to 400, the PAR still drops from 137 to 129. I would be spending a lot more in electricity and excess heat only to lose intensity. Is it worth it?

They sell reeflux in 250's. Are you going with 10K'a or 12K's. I have 250 10k's but I do run supplement lighting. No need to go up to 400's if you don't have to.

to increase intensity you can also lower your halides closer to the water. I read the same article on reeflux 250 watt bulbs. One thing to consider. Do you like the color the bulb puts off? 12k i think is a middle of road bulb if you want growth I would be going 10k.

I like the color of the 12k looks like actinics are on but not as blue as 20k.

Dean, I've been considering the same thing but I just can't do it. I have to massively upgrade and have major one time costs (400W ballasts, etc) not to mention a bigger electricity bill to even get close to the PAR of my current setup. It's just not worth it to me. I like the reeflux's and they really seem to bring out some nice colors but it's just to expensive a tradeoff for me. If you do it let me know how it goes. I'm tempted to get some 250s and lower them way day (chiller working overtime) and see how that works.