Recent content by Firewolf4

1. F

Make the red go awayyyyy

Guys, I have been fighting a massive cyano outbreak for the past 3+ months that's effectively wiped out my tank. I lost all my sps's, LPS's and have a few strays ( mushrooms, a couple zoo polyps and maybe 5 kenya trees). My ammo, nitrates/trites are all at zero, Mag at 1300, ca at 480, pH at...
  2. F

UCK! What is this???

Looks like GHA ( Green hair algae) with air bubbles trapped in it. Check Nitrates and how long have you been running your current set of bulbs?
  3. F

SPS ID needed

I have a few SPS's that I'm just not sure what they are. These pictures have had size, contrast and brightness adjustments only. If anyone can ID them please let me know. Lighting is 250W 14K SPS for the last 2 pics, 250W SPS 14K and 250W 20K Radium for the first Pic
  4. F

What to do with a Gorilla Crab?

As I was checking out my tank tonight, I happened upon a small black tipped claw picking away at part of my Green monti Cap. Being the no-nonsense crab hunter I am, it was Game on. 20 mins later and minus a 10 lb piece of Tufa rock, I was once again victorious. He's just a tiny thing with a body...
  5. F

Acrylic scratch repair- DIY

This is the quick 10 minute repair of a deep gouge. This is all done with sandpaper. The result can either be polished out or flame polished for a crystal clear result. Items Needed: 1 sheet 400-600 grit wet-dry sandpaper 1 sheet 1000 grit wet-dry sandpaper 1 sheet 1200 grit wet-dry sandpaper 1...
  6. F

anyone seen this type of reflector

I've looked into using Solatubes myself but the radiation pattern was really narrow. For my 150( 60" x 24" footprint) I would've had to have installed 5 tubes. I would recommend sticking with reflectors designed for aquatic applications and not a modification of something used for another purpose
  7. F

DIY aquacontroller - which would you rather see?