Recent content by DoctorR

1. D

Red Green War Coral Receding

My red/green war coral that I've had for 6 years has suddenly started receding over the past week--about 1/2 inch per day.  It seems to be triggered by a change in my LEDs but I started the new lights with less intensity than the old thinking the corals would need to adjust. It looks to me like...
  2. D

Photon 48-V2 question

Does anyone have any opinions/feedback they could give regarding the Photon 48 V-2?  Any help would be appreciated. 
  3. D

Skimmer overflowing

I have a SC-S250 skimmer that has started overflowing every 2 - 3 days. Not sure what's changed because I've been running for almost 2 years now without this issue. The air line seems to be clear. Skims great for several days and then I come home to find it pushing clear water out the top. ?Any...
  4. D

Help Save this Coral

Can anyone tell me what's going on with this coral (Link to pics below)? I moved it to a new tank last week and it's dying off very quickly. Water parameters are the same. The only difference is that the old tank had halide lighting and the new one has LEDs. Any advice would be appreciated...
  5. D

Overrun by blue/purple shrooms

My 110 gal is getting overrun with blue/purple mushrooms. I've started swapping out some of the rock but I have a large colony attached to the back glass of the tank. What is the best way to get them under control?
  6. D

live rock after tank crash

My 55 gal crashed last week. I was able to save most of the fish and corals by moving them over to another tank. Is the live rock safe to move over as well?
  7. D

cleaner shrimp compatibility

I would like to add a couple of cleaner shrimp into my 110 gal tank but I have a hawaiian flame hawk that is already established in it. Any compatibility issues?
  8. D

ro question