Second floor apt, what size tank?

[Will be moving to a second floor apt and cannot take my tank with me. I will be downgrading and am looking for recommendations and ACTUAL experience from members that have tanks on the 2nd floor.

What is max size I should get?? I am leaning towards 120-135g but not much bigger. Just do not want to take the chance.

Any ideas or ways to displace the weight?

Thanks ahead of time!]

[Well a 120 w 100lbs of rock and 100 lbs of sand is going to weigh roughly 1200 pounds, that is just a rough estimate not including stand, weight of glass tank or any equipment etc, etc.
I know it is important to place the tank perpendicular to the floor joists so that the weight is distributed evenly across several of them. How to figure out which way the joists run I have no idea.
Sorry I have no actual experience with an upstairs tank but hopefully that info will help. Im sure some others here will have some usefull info.]

[Chris, if you haven't yet, I would suggest you contact your apt manager and also read your lease agreement closely.

There may also be a pet deposit involved.(This would cover the leaks, spills, and ooops.)

Better to know before instead of after you purchase the perfect tank.

Retired Realtor and Property Manager]

[A lot of apartments don't want you to have aquariums :( The one I lived in before I got my house would not allow an aquarium over like 30 gallons unless you were on the bottom floor :(]

[Definitely check with the apartment office. One I lived in several years ago also would require a large pet deposit for tanks over 30 gallons because of possible water damage. They would also make anyone with a water bed make a deposit for the same possible "flood" damage.]