Rigging fans - Electrical help por favor

[I hooked up my old 3" computer fans over my sump over the weekend and one is gone kapoot and the other cavetates alot more than I like. Pretty much ran them into the ground and the salt ate them up pretty bad on my old system.

So, I was looking to DIY some new ones. My only question is, can I solder the leads to the fan HERE to an AC plug without a relay? They are 120VAC fans, but I'm no electrician and don't want to order the wrong thing.

If these aren't what I'm looking for, please let me know what specifications I should be.

Thanks!]

Edited By Modo on 1078956853

[Jose would know for sure, but from what I can tell, yes, it will run on a normal cord. It won't be grounded unless you attach a third (green) wire to the body of the fan.

You should test it after it is temporarily connected to the cord, away from any water.]

[It looks like you should be able to. Use the right solder and some heat shrink tubing to insulate the connection though, or better yet crimp some male insulated spade plugs to the fan and then female to the cord and no soldering and easy to disconnect if you have long wire runs. Wire nuts work too but they can fall off.

IMHO, if your electrically inclined or think you can do it (work with low voltage components) you should get DC fans that run off of like 12v and then use a pot (potentiometer) to controll their speed (noise/evaporation) by lowering the voltage some, but at the cost of some airflow. An old wallwart (dc adaptor) and the pot in series with the fans and your set. Or just connect the fan to the wallwart and your set. It's safer than running 120 AC over your sump too.

By the way Fry's sells fan air filters in the pc section. (thin material to trap dust.) Salt shouldn't be an issue if you mount them high enough.]

Edited By DallasJose on 1078962497

[Thanks guys for the replies!