opinions calcium media

lceman225

Membership Expired
I've been using A.R.M fine calcium media for a while and seems like it needs a lower PH (6.60-6.65) to disolve. Does anyone have an opinion on which brand they have had success with a slightly higher PH?

Have you measured the alkalinity of the effluent coming out of the reactor? You may have the ph lower than you need. If the effluent if higher than 30 dkh, you can lower the ph of the effluent slightly. If it is around 30 dkh it is right on the mark. I do use a secondary chamber because of the high use of calcium in the tank.I have been using ARM for 7 years it works very well for me.

yea, i tested the efluent the other day and was getting 24-25 dkh on my GEO 618. my tank is reading 8-9 dkh and is pretty stable. but my drip rate is almost a constant feed. I'm having to drip kalk (~1g/day) to help boost my tank's PH. I also calibrated my PH meter the other day.

The ARM fine is the one that dissolves at a higher pH. If you use something like the GenX media, it requires a lower pH. I haven't heard of a media that dissolves with a higher pH than the ARM fine.

I have always used ARM in a GEO 618 and have never had any problems. I have a pH monitor set @ 6.5 to shut off the CO2 to prevent media melt down.

I have used both the fine and course and fine the difference being the fine last about six months and the course just over nine months with the way we have it set.

If you are needing a drip rate that fast to keep up with your alkalinity and calcium use, you might need to get a second chamber. Because of room I use a Phosban reactor filled with media and run the effluent from the calcium reactor into it. After it leaves that chamber the effluent has a dkh of 40 and the Ph is a little over 7.

thanks for the info guys. I'm going to clean out my reactor this weekend and fill it up with some new ARM coarse. It could be that the recirc pump is a bit clogged causing the media to dissolve slower?

@lceman225 wrote: