Old freshwater to saltwater tank?

Can I convert an old freshwater tank into a saltwater tank? I am going to buy new filters and everything I was just curious about how I should clean the actual tank so that I can use it for saltwater. I am a high school aquatic science teacher and I'm on a very low budget. I'm taking my animals home over the summer and I cannot take home the tank they are currently in. I was thinking about doing a dsb and I already have live rock. I would be going from a 25 gallon aquarium to a 35 one. I am EXTREMELY new to the saltwater world. Thanks for your help!

Just make sure you have never medicated the aquarium before, and do a vinager bath to help clean it and you should be good to go. if you need any odds or ends i have a ton of extra equipment lying around just let me know

Well the tank was given to me..... Hopefully they didn't medicate the tank! I guess I'll find out. :/

I need LOTS of odds and ends unfortunately! :( I literally have the 35 gallon aquarium, a stand, and a lid that doesn't fit very well. I want to get some kind of H.O.T. skimmer and a power-head. (At least that is what I think I need.) I don't even know what flow rate I need for it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Well to start off I would say the best thing you can do is read, read, and read more if you are new and take your time. Do not rush it as it is a lot different than FW. Welcome to the boards also. [smilie=clapping.gif]

@Fish Outta Water wrote:
Well the tank was given to me..... Hopefully they didn't medicate the tank! I guess I'll find out. :/ I need LOTS of odds and ends unfortunately! :( I literally have the 35 gallon aquarium said:
Are you goin gto make it a reef tank or fish only?

@Lance6270 wrote:
Well to start off I would say the best thing you can do is read said: