Looking for supplemental lightning recommendation

Oscarmk

Premium Member
I am very new to reef keeping, despite having been in saltwater for 3 years now, anyway about 2-3 months ago I bought my first frags, I got some candy canes, zoanthids and mushrooms, all except the mushroom I currently have them about mid height on a standard dimensions 75 gallon with a single marine orbit led which outputs 46 watts, using a 48 inch array of 0.25 watt leds. The lightning completely covers the 75 and I would consider it to actually be bright, tank is now about 9 months old, and I am not seeing much grow if any of my frags, I think it might be the lightning, it seems most people choose to have a supplemental light if they are using a single marine orbit led on a 75. I am only interested in keeping softies and lps, but I feel with my very limited coral experience, that my corals are not receiving enough light, and therefore are not multiplying. All my frags look pretty good and stay open for the most part, except for 1 which is just partially open and another one with only 5 polyps that was doing great, and then it suddenly closed a month ago never to open again... the polyps still look fine.

With this in mind my first though was to simple buy a second marine orbit 48 led, but I am not sure this would be ideal, as I understand this would in theory about double my current par?, not sure how this works to be honest. It is my understanding that a light with full spectrum would be ideal, which brought me to perhaps a marine orbit led PRO which has 67 watts with 0.5 watt leds and full spectrum, but it seems there are probably better options available, and the marine orbit led PRO seems rather pricy to me for the power it offers.