Kalkwasser question

Last night I mixed up a teaspoon of Kent Kalk powder in a gallon sized container full of RO/DI water. I have let it sit overnight but I am new to this and I don't know if it is ready. According to the directions there should be a crust on top, a clear layer below that, then a milky and powder layer in the bottom. I let that sit overnight and now the "crust" on top is more like slush, not a hard shell. The "clear" layer is still a little cloudy and I don't really see any clear line for the bottom layers although I do see some powder. Can someone please tell me, when is it good to go? I will remove the top crust when it's ready, should I siphon out the good stuff and discard the rest or drip from that same container while leaving the bottom layers in there? Sorry for all the questions but I am not trying to take any chances. I am a little nervous b/c I have so many corals in my tank. By the way, does anyone have a PH monitor I can buy off of them?

Thanks everyone,
Dan

Instructions

http://reefkeeping.com/issues/2005-01/rhf/index.php

BTW.. getting a little crust in the drip is not a problem, you just want to avoid the powder sludge at the bottom. A trick I used to use was a big spoon and scooped the crust off the top and scraped the sides. I also used an OJ with a strainer pour tip container when I mixed it up.