Just got my first real fish...a yellow tang... - What should i do to ensure his health?

[Hmmm ... I've heard you generally want to add Tangs as the LAST fish you get because they are pretty territorial and will beatup anything new you put in the tank. I'd also say go to the Asian market and get some Nori, I'm sure the Tang will thank you for it. I think they also like Lettuce. Take all that with a grain of salt tho, I'm a newbie myself. heh :p]

[Tangs LOVE Nori, and the seaweed sheets, and caulerpra.

The brown streaks you see may be due to stress. Mine does that at night, when she is "sleeping", and some yellows do this on a regular basis.

Please do NOT feed brine shrimp as a regular diet. This is candy to a fish - filling, but not nutritous. Flake food is much better, or frozen mysis shrimp - give a variety, and your fishy will be happy!]

[best advice feed it (not the tank) a lot. tangs do best when they can graze constantly all day. As said Nori is about the best reasonable option, you can get it at some grocers, especially asian markets. Clip a leaf in the tank each day and don't let it break down and pollute the tank and your tang will love it.

Tangs are eating monsters, but keep in mind that any food that goes in will turn to phosphate and nitrate, whether its in the form of food or fish waste. Sort of a catch 22 but certainly doable.]

[I usually feed real fish real food and artificial fish artificial foods like gummi bears and stuff...
but I read that somewhere...]

[Other good foods for tangs

Ocean Nutrition's Formula Two
Ocean Nutrition's Spirulina Formula
Ocean Nutrition's VHP (very high protein)
San Fransico Brand Emerald Entree

All of these are frozen foods. Since it sounds like you only have two fish you can use a knife and cut the frozen cube of food into smaller bites and just feed the Tang and damsel what they will eat.]

[66deduce!