Help! My fish Keep Dying!!! :(

I have a 50 gallon aquarium that has been running for a little while and my fish keep dying. My nitrates, nitrites, pH, alkalinity, ammonia, phosphates, salinity, dissolved oxygen, and copper (0) are in a normal range. I bought 6 chromis, all died the next day. A couple days later I bought 3 fairly large chromis and they died a couple days apart from each other. One was doing the death spiral.
Several days later I bought Rolland's (?) damsel who had been at a fish store for 3 months so I know he was a healthy fish. I put him in the aquarium aclimated him for an hour and a half on Tuesday and he was dead today. I have about 17 lbs of live rock in my aquarium.
For the most part all my invertabrates are doing fine. 2 sand sifting snails, 1 chocolate startfish, sea urchin, 5 blue legged hermit crabs, 3 red legged hermit crabs, and a peppermint shrimp.

I am at a loss of what to do. I have a very limited budget because I'm a school teacher, at Saginaw High School, and the money I have is money that my students have fundraised for.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I float the bag and ever so often I add a little cup of my water. (I don't have a refrugium to drip acclimate. (I've never had problems with this procedure in the past. My aquarium at home has a 6 line wrasse and a watchman gobie.) I do this for awhile and then I take a little cup of the bag water out and then put my tank water in. All this takes place over a span of an hour to an hour and a half.

My temp. ranges from 76 to 78. My salinity is 1.022. I can't remember what my pH was I just know when I had it tested they said is was good. I know that doesn't explain a lot. I can test it later on today.

My peppermint shrimp looks bleached out and now keeps jumping into the filter.

Oh and yes I'm stupid and used tap water. The directions with the tank call for it. It was dechlorinated and the tank was cycling awhile before I added anything.