Dgam's 80g. First Saltwater Tank

DGAM

Premium Member
Hello, everyone. I am new to this hobby and to the forum. This has been a dream of mine for quite some time. It started off as just the tank, then my Dad and I built the stand for it and it has sat in my office, empty and sad, for over 3 years. The time has finally come and I can't be more excited to get this thing going. I certainly understand it's going to take patience and I am OK with that. One thing you should know is that I don't know much about the hobby. I am a newbie but I am very eager to learn, although my brother is helping me through the process.

Here's my inventory list so far:

- I've bought a Melev's Reef RO/DI unit and made my own water. So cool!
- One 160g Instant Ocean Reef Crystals
- 100lbs of live rock from a member here. It was a super great deal at $2/lb for rock that has been in a tank for the past 7 years.
- Two 48" Panorama Marine LED strips
- Three Maxi-Jet 1200 Water Pumps
- Saltwater Master Test Kit
- Reef Master Test Kit
- MarineDepot Refractometer
- Eheim Ultra G160 Canister Filter

Here's a few pics of the past couple days up until this point where I just have the live rock sitting in the tank. I still need to add the crushed coral aragonite. More pics to come as I progress.

Your input is greatly appreciated. Thank you for following along and your encouragement as I learn.

Have a great day!

Sincerely,
Dgam

I plan to do a sump and a protein skimmer at some point in the future. This is just getting me started.