Changing salt brands

steelcaveman

Premium Member
I have been using Tropic Marin Pro Reef salt for a few years now and have been very disappointed with the last two buckets.
I knew something was up as my magnesium and PH would be significantly lower after a water change.
I finally took the time to test a fresh mix / 10 hours of mixing.
Salinity 1.024
Salifert test kits.
Mag - under 1,000
Ca - over 550
PH - 7.7 - also used Milwaukee PH probe.
Alk - 10
I would expect better results for the money.
Plus having to dose to make up for the deficiencies is not acceptable IMO.
Today I picked up a bucket of the new Brightwell salt - got a great deal.
I am currently mixing my first batch.
The stuff smells pretty funky - but I was pre-warned regarding the smell.
The salinity tested perfectly on the first try. This has not happened to me in over year.
I'll test the rest in a few hours and post.
I'm hoping for some good news and good results.

Re-tested the salinity - it went up a bit so I added some RODI.
Salinity 1.024
PH 8.35
ALK 9.9
PO-4 = 0
[CA 360 TESTED THIS THREE TIMES.]
[MAG 1170]
NO2 = 0
NO3 = 0

It is troubling that the CA & MAG are low. This means that the Sra will also be low.
The PH & Alk readings are great and overall the readings are better than Tropic Marin.
But it is disheartening the the claims from salt makers are usually false.
"Formulated from natural seawater chemistry "

Not clear how nature seawater has CA 360 & Mag of 1170.
It does state that it should be mixed at a salinity of 1.025 - which is only slighty higher than what I keep my tank at.
I tried to test the Sra, but the CA was too low to complete the test.

This morning I retested the CA & MAG - no improvement.

I find it hard to give this salt a thumbs up due to the following:
1) CA is below the levels in natural seawater - by 10%.
2) Mag is below the levels in natural seawater - by 15%
3) The water smells like rotten eggs.