Brandon's 210

booker1978

Premium Member
About a year ago, the wife told me to go pick up a fish for my little 2 year old (at the time) and I came back with our first 15 gallon saltwater tank. To commemorate our 1st year as a "saltwater family" we thought what a better way to celebrate than upgrade it by 200 gallons! I've got no complaints!

We really were not planning on making this big of a jump quite yet, but we couldn't pass up a great opportunity presented by a new friend that was selling his old setup (thanks Lance!). He hooked us up big time, so we put a fast-track on the upgrade and now... here we are! I am very fortunate to have a great wife who not only approves of this new hobby, but wants to learn with me... at least once it is setup. Sounds like a great excuse for me to play! As stated before... I am pretty new to this game, so please feel free to critique as the progression occurs.

The first major change that I had to conquer was to rip up the old crappy 1996 builders grade carpet and replace it with concrete acid stain. This was my first attempt at concrete staining and in the end it turned out fantastic... but the process nearly killed me... both figuratively and literally. Let's just say that I am glad that there were no witnesses and/or cameras present when I had my first experience with an industrial floor polisher. I'm just thankful I still my my arms!

Here is a picture of a before shot of the surprises under the crappy carpet:
[attachment=0]rsz_img_1353.jpg[/attachment]

And now what it looks like now with the tank:
[attachment=1]210 Tank.jpg[/attachment]

Overall, I am very pleased... and now my focus goes to the tank! Here we go!

Congrats on your new purchase! The new floor looks great. Best of luck with your new build. Take your time and enjoy the ride. Post lots of pics!

The most difficult thing about the floors is the prep work. Once everything was off if the floor, it actually went pretty quickly.