And So It Begins...DSA 65 gal

Well after "testing the Waters" with a JBJ 28 gal NANO I am thinking the DSA 65 rimless is what I want. I have been buying a few items here and there and last night actual work began. Man am I sore today.

The stand bought are $350 and up like $580 for the taller version

I studied it closely and think I am on my way to a very good copy.
I am doing things backwards in that the tank is going to be the last thing I buy.

I know I have been searching the web for threads on this tank and they are very few out there so this will be one for anybody else who decides on this tank.

Off to home depot.

Went with oak plywood as it was only $5 more than snadywood and I knew it would stain out nice and be super strong.

total cost on the stand wood materials $99

65gal%20DSA0001.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0004.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0005.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0007.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0008.JPG
alt="">

Love the Kreg Jig

65gal%20DSA0003.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0009.JPG
alt="">

all the pieces added up came to only slightly less than this kit so got it and that way I know it will work as quietly as the one on display at Mid Cities

65gal%20DSA0011.JPG
alt="">

65gal%20DSA0012.JPG
alt="">

Advice and guidance is appreciated as I am a rookie at all this.

Looks good. When ever I build a stand I always end up spending at least $200 for materials including screws, stain, paint, wood, and whatever else. How tall is the stand?

Is a DSA rimless a 36" tank? Have you considered having Planet Aquariums build your tank? They are usually cheaper and do great work than anyone else.

Oh and nice light fixture you got there. You are going to love it!