Regal tang - What to feed them

[Before venturing out and purchasing a Regal Tang I saw at a local LFS store I want to get some information from anyone who has one in there tank. I especially want to know how to their eating habits.]

[I second the algae sheets and also OSI makes a great spiralina flake.I also feed spiralina enriched brine srimp soaked with selcon or zoe.]

Edited By txreefdude on 1092321035

TealCobra wrote:

[My Tangs LOVE the nori. They like it a lot better than the seaweed salad you can get at the LFS. Mine have just started eating New Life Spectrum. They are tiny little pelets. They start to sink almost as soon as you put them in and they all go after it. They also eat a little of the frozen forumla I and II. The others go absolutely nuts over it. My Tangs haven't seemed to care much for the frozen brine although the others surely do like it.

I'll also be interested in what some of the others have to say since I am new at this.

Cindy]

[go to an asian market and get nori there. It is like 2.50 for a huge pack. A pack that size at a lfs would be like 10.00. When i do give my regal some brine i soak it in garlic extreme to prevent him from getting any ich.]

[According to Andy (I think), there is a toasted nori and a non-toasted nori. He suggests the non-toasted for tank use.

I did not know this when I bought nori months ago but the tangs seem to be okay with the toasted variety right now.
next time I will buy the non-toasted variety.

While in the Asian supermarket, you'll see several different kinds of dried seaweed. I have tried a bunch of them on me as well as the tang. Tang seems to like them all - I have reservations about a couple of them...]

A_Sig wrote:

[Hi A_Sig!

Does the garlic really help protect from ich? So far so good (knock on wood) I've not had any problems with ich and if this can help to prevent it I'll go get some today. Can you pretty much get it at any LFS. About all we have around here is Petland.