new tank Cloudy water

Okay, so I'm getting ready to bring my salt water animals home for the summer (I am a teacher) and this is the first time I've tried the whole dsb thing. The tank at school had a crushed corral bed. I cannot get the water to clear out. I have live rock in it so I am afraid to turn off the circulation. Any suggestions?

And the live rock should be okay? Along with all the little critters? Do I need to feed them? There are a ton of brittle stars. They seem like they are a little irritated. Climbing the walls and such.

If your not running any filtration ATM I wouldn't. The rock should be fine. Let it settle, check your parameters, then add the livestock when everything is in check. And pay close attention to salinity and do frequent water changes. Again: IMO.

Couple of questions. What type of substrate did you use? Was it from another tank or out of the bag? How well did you wash it out? Typically the sand will settle down in 2-5 days really depending on how fine it is. I would not kill the circulation just be sure and keep the jets point upwards away from the sand as much as you can.