My new little babies... - Dwarf seahorses

[I got some dwarf seahorses today. One of the males actually gave birth about 30 minutes after I put him in the tank. Here is a picture of the pregnant male before he had babies...]

[All the little specks are brine shrimp. If I can actually raise the babies to about 2 months, then I might be putting some out here for a very low price (since this is my first batch). If anyone is interested, let me know. They take a very small tank (like 2.5 - 5 gallons) and have some special needs when it comes to their environment. I can explain what I know thus far if you are interested. I honestly don't expect to be successful with these babies since this is my first time, but I am going to try really hard to keep them alive.]

[They are always adorable! Thanks for posting pictures.

I know heaters are unacceptable, but at MACNA I saw they had a flat heater that was like a credit card that you could suction cup to the glass of smaller nano tanks. I wonder if that would be feasible? You could probably even bury it in the substrate.]

[The light tends to heat it during the day. In the mornings, it seems to be about 74-75, so I don't think I need a heater. It's only a 2.5 gallon tank.]

[Congrats Jody! They look great, where did you order from?
I may be interested in some dwarfs in the future so keep me in mind when you get the little cuties raised!]

[Congrats on the buy and the surprise Jody!! :smart:
Is there a guide on taking care/setting a tank up for seahorse care? Thinking about a nano tank for seahorses down the road and wanted to start reading up. Why is Amanda's tank so camera shy? We should picket her house until she gives us pics of her new babies. :eyebrows:]

[Amanda--I bought them from
Aqualand
Keep in mind that they are wild caught, not captive bred like you can get at Ocean Rider.