My name is gogol and I am an addict

Howdy all, [smilie=hi.gif]

I am currently studying in Barcelona but will return to my home in Plano this December. My addiction has led me to imagine, design and research a reef system for every waking moment of this summer. I have maintained a nano (40g) LPS-softy tank for 4 years. Currently, my wife and I have a turtle named Scooter and a Standard Poodle named Guinness.

I want to build a 55 Gallon all-in-one tank system (design below). Following are the salient features of my tank. Looking forward to your feedback [smilie=smile.gif]

Cheers,
Gogol

• All in-one 55 gallon, naturally filtered, naturally fed system with gravity top-off.
    Filtration: Semi-cryptic sponge refugium at the bottom of tank. Cheato refugium on 3 sides of aquarium (fueled by ambient sunlight, but blocking it from DT)
    Feeding: Drip feeding of Phytoplankton(refugium), Rotifer(DT)
    Dosing - ProdiBio ReefKit
    RO-water - Walmart
    Salt - hw MarineMix Reefer
    Aqauscape: Bare Rock, Bare Sand (Preventing hitch-hikers)
    Lighting: (LED) - Off during the day, On during night. (Diurnal lighting with chaeto)

LiveStock:
    • Sponge: Callyspongia vaginalis (Magenta Tubes)
      Snails: Cerith, Nassarius, Trochus

Hi and WELCOME!

Wow ... it's gonna be nice! Good planning = success!

Be sure to start your build thread and keep us posted with images! You may also want to consider a chiller as if your intentions are to raise that sponge (???)

Very cool!

Again, welcome!

Grace & Peace,
Lisa

Hey there BlennyLover!!

The sponge seems to be local to South Florida, Bahamas etc. Here is some info http://species-identification.org/species.php?species_group=caribbean_diving_guide&id=443.
I am groping for ideas/suggestions to grow non-encrusting sponge species, but success rates seem to be low.