last question for now about a 100gallon

I have a friend that has a 100gallon tank that he said he will give me. it is just the tank ONLY. NO lights, stand or filters etc etc etc etc. what is a round about cost to get everything EXCEPT the stand? I have a friend I was a firefighter with who does wood work on his days off and could make me a nice stand with a canopy for the top for only materials and no labor as long as I help.

Really depends on allot.. :) What's your plan? What are you going to put in it? Fish only or fish and coral? (Thinking of lighting here. Fish light cheaper than coral light.)Are you going to want sand and rock in it? (Can cost allot depending what you want.)Is it already drilled for an overflow system to go into a sump? (If so you need a sump, skimmer, heater, pluming and return pump. If not you need an HOB filter and HOB skimmer.)Sounds like you got the stand/canopy figured out.