Lake Terrace 380 DT + 180 sump + 100 surge

Karimwassef

Premium Member
Hey everyone. I've been building this beast for 18 months now (from a glimmer in my eye) so it's about time to publish some.

I'm in Garland by the way.

This is an in-wall 34" deep x 27" high x 96" wide starphire glass tank with the body in my garage and the front face in the house.

It's on a frame of 2x4s and a 3/4" plywood base.

The sump is a DIY plywood and epoxy with acrylic windows and baffles. It's 2' x 2' x 6'

I have a platform over the tank holding a 100 gal Rubbermaid container with two 2" outlets connected to DIY 2" PVC valves operated by linear actuators to create a two path surge. It's controlled by my Apex and has been running nearly continuously for about a year. The two outlets are on opposite corners to allow for cross flow too (sometimes).

Also made a DIY alternating flow diverter that plumbs the return pump flow through two outlets on opposite corners if the tank. The valve aperture is circular so the outputs are two out of phase sine waves. So four outlets at four corners total.

I built a DIY 10' tall 6" diameter skimmer with dual air injected penductors and a dedicated 6000gph pump to drive it. Planning on turning the surge and monster skimmer off at night.

Lighting is 3x 400W MH pendants with 10k. Two are Ushio mogul and one is a two pin. Also build a DIY LED fixture 4" wide x 8' long with 200W RB, 200W ~UV (410nm) and 50W cool white with 7 x 3" fans on the heatsink side.

Also have a raised platform with a 100gal Rubbermaid ATO tank with a DIY kalkwasser reactor on the outlet.

The surge requires a side sump to absorb the 30-60 gal surges, so I added a 75 gal Rubbermaid that doubles as a saltwater mixing/adding station.

I also built my own concrete rock shelves, ledges and forms to keep it all off the tank bottom.

Made a DIY 2 output doser for vinegar and trace

More to come with pics.

Hey Matt.