Keeping corals??? New to the salt world.

cervezamoney

Membership Expired
I have a 29 gallon with a fluval 304 and poor lighting, what is the min. lighting I should have to keep corals? Is my filtration enough? Thanks for your help!

I had some livestock given to me this week, and this is my first time dealing with salt, so any pointers are welcome.

What type of livestock did you get?

I would suggest going with T5s for lighting. But I would also suggest you get some live rock.

Welcome to the addiction!!!

I also have a 29 gallon! I'm currently running 130 watt power compact lighting. I hope to upgrade my lighting at some point, but I've had it up for a year and have had no issues.

Currently in my tank I have, pulsing xenia, several zoa colonies, kenya tree frag, candy cane, yellow polyps, ricordia mushrooms, green star polyps and one HUGE rbta! they all seem to be doing well.

The biggest tip I would suggest is that once your tank has cycled make sure you keep up with your water changes. Keeping your water parameters normal will be the best thing you can do to maintain a healthy system.

Good luck!

I got a Clarki clown, two yellow tails, a crab and some snails, the guy gave me his water from the tank and his live sand, so I think I'm well established. I only have 2 20w t8's at the moment, and I know thats not near enough

rock that is either cultured for a couple years or harvested from the ocean. It includes all sorts of life forms (bacteria, algeas, inverts, worms, and many others) that filter, eat and break down wastes, excess foods and polutants into safer forms.

Basically live rock is the primary filtering media for salt water aquariums. Without it, you should expect to see a rise in amonia - the basic waste product from the fish.