harlequin shrimp

Catjuggler

Premium Member
Hi I have a pair of harlequin shrimp and i would like to open a discussion on them. I love my pair, they swim around the tank and seem to like me and notice when im around. There tiny but they don't take any bull from there other tankmates and they seem to respect there space. There beautiful addition to a tank and it seems not a lot of people have them. I would love to hear any ones stories that have to do with them. I'm new to the hobby and anyone's experience would be greatly appreciated. My big female likes to hang upside down from a branch of hammer coral and swing her claws around and my tiny male like to just follow her around. She is so much bigger then him but if something comes close the male jumps in front and wards them off(what a gentlemen). Ill post some pics as soon as i can. It would be awsome if anyone could share any links,photos or any info on these beautiful creatures

had one for a long time then started feeding him satrfish i bought 2 weeks later he died
should have left well enough alone

Im sorry to hear that, I feed mine a chocolate chip star every 3 to 4 weeks. they seem to enjoy this feeding the most, I tried to feed them every 2 weeks and they kinda ignored the starfish for about a week

When i first got them i had a bad case of asterina stars, within 2 weeks they were all gone.i planed my whole tank around these guys(no coral banded or strawberry crabs ).there tuff but i didnt want them to stressed

so my female molted and now she is gone(4 days). I think someone got her while she was weak. i plan on getting a new female after the male gets done eating if the old one doesn't pop back up. I plan on putting them in there own tank away from the other shrimp and crabs. If anyone has a female they want to get rid of let me know. I should be replacing her in the next week.