Cerith Snails?

jvswan

Premium Member
Hey all, I've been cycling my new nano for about three months. Lol. It is on my desk at work, and I haven't had time to go and put anything in it yet. This week I went to True Perc (I don't care for that store much, but that's about my only option in central Arlington where I work) and picked up some dragons breath macro (for color and nutrient absorption) and four "cerith" snails. At the time I thought they were ceriths, but when I got them to the office and started to acclimate them I noticed that they don't look like normal ceriths. For one thing they are about 3/4" to 1" long. And they have a black foot and a smooth shell. Here's one who was happy to pose for a photo.

tu9yda9e.jpg
alt="">

Now, after two days I see that they are leaving a pretty clear mark on the tank. Granted, there is some diatom action going on in there, but look at what those guys are doing to the rock! If it wasn't so stark, I'd be totally stoked! But, as it is, I'm slightly concerned.

hy7e5u3e.jpg
alt="">

So, I tried to identify these guys and it appears that they are Mexican Ceriths. I've never heard of them. Mexican Turbos, yes... But not Mexican Ceriths. Does anyone know if they are ok?

I once put some purple spiny urchins in my 125 and they ended up eating lots of coraline. My nice purple rock had white trails just like in the above photo. I ended up giving the urchins to another guy. But that is why I'm a bit concerned. I don't see any evidence of coraline yet, so perhaps these snails are just really good cleaners

What do y'all think?