Aquac remora

[Does anyone have one of the aquaC Remora HOT skimmers? my 55 is not drilled, so I'll need some sort of skimmer and was thinking about going this route.

pros? cons? i'm a beginner and this is my next purchase so any input would be greatly appreciated! everyone's info has been great so far!]

[I'm using an Aqua C Remora on my 29g, and it works great. If you get one for your 55g, I'd recommend you get the Remora Pro with the Maxijet powerhead. It is better to have a skimmer with the "umph!" to get the job done, than to get on that is underpowered for the job.

Whichever one you go with, the Remora or the Pro, don't buy the one with the Rio powerhead.]

@Marc wrote:
[I'm using an Aqua C Remora on my 29g said:
[Marc,

I definatly planned on getting the Remora Pro! My friend who has been getting me through the basic steps was telling me that the skimmer should process 2-3 times the amount of water that's in the tank. So when I started doing my reserach it was a toss up between the PrizmPro (does it suck as much as everyone says it deos?) and the RemoraPro.

I'm definatly, *definatly* getting a RR tank for my next tank! It'll make a nice addition to the living room and contrast the Fresh tank.

Now why the MaxiJet head over the Mag Drive3? And why not the RIOs? I've got 3 MaxiJet powerheads and they're really good. Nice and quiet, haven't had any problems with them.]

[The Prism has a reputation for noise and not the greatest output of skimmate. (the gunk the skimmer collects)

The Magdrive would be even better. Just avoid the worthless Rio pumps that are notorious for failure, leaking electricity in your tank, or melting down.]

@mmiller40 wrote:
[Rios are a POS. They will leak and send electricity into your tank or you if you are unlucky enough to reach into the tank. ;) The maxi and the mag are equal. Have you considered a overflow box so you could add a sump and a euroreef? IMO Euroreef's (or ASM said: