Any Ozone experts out there?

Gatorman1313

Premium Member
I would to add some sterilization to my 190 setup with 60 frag. The Recommended UV was almost 40" long but since I have Apex I though O3 would be better however I have no idea what I would need and how to set it up - to include if my reef oct skimmer could handle it or what would need to be replaced. Any experts on Ozone out there?

Both Rick and psteeleb both run ozone and can answer your questions.

I am not an expert by any means, but I can share what I have experienced with my set up. First, I would highly recommend an ozone reactor as running 03 through your skimmer will be less than ideal. There are some real nice 03 reactors out there (Avast, Reef Octopus ). I currently stopped using dryer beads , but they are also recommended and can increase the efficiency of the ozone generator , Mount your 03 generator higher than the ozone reactor and put 2 check valves on the line for good measure !! I ruined a perfectly good ozonizer because my check valve failed and the ozonizer was lower than the 03 reactor !! It got water in it and was done for !! I prefer to run my ozone just after the lights turn on and usually for 2-3 hrs only. I vary the output of 03, but lately I just run it at 100 mg.This gets the water very clear and the skimmer performs at peak. Running to much ozone or for prolonged periods is detrimental to your reef. As you probably know an Orp meter is a must when running 03 so make sure you have one and it's properly calibrated. Running it on my system this way has my Orp at 350 mv and water is sparkling. Hope this helped.