Recent content by TCU Reefer

1. T

Dolomite

Anyone run dolomite in their calcium reactor? I ordered some through PA since it was only $12 bucks so I thought I'd give it a shot to help with Mg buffering. http://tinyurl.com/8c6d8p Any experiences with this product or dolomite in general?
  2. T

Clean your water storage containers!

So as I was making some RO/DI water the other day, I noticed my DI filter was getting pretty orange so I decided to take the TDS reading inside my Brute trash can that I've been using for the past 18 months. Over 850 TDS!! :o Marc came by later that night to deliver a new set of filters and we...
  3. T

ID please

Any ideas? Please no comments about bleach. I just want a generalization of what this might be. Smooth skin piece with deep purple tips, white polyps and a green base. alt="">
  4. T

My VorTech also stopped working

I didn't want to hijack the other thread since my pump failed for a different reason. I don't use a spacer on my pump and just have the black rubber gasket between the glass and the motor. The pump ran very warm and melted a hole right in the center of the gasket which made the pump run very...
  5. T

Anyone ever clean your anti-siphon holes?

The other night, I turned off the return pump before feeding. Walked away for a few minutes to let the food thaw out and come back to find water all over the hardwood floor. :evil: I looked at my sump and it was overflowing! I quickly turned on the return pump but not before about ten gallons...
  6. T

ID?

Got this large piece from Frank's at his anniversary sale last week but I'm not quite sure what it is. alt=""> alt="">
  7. T

How hardy are aiptasia? .02g Aiptaisia pico

I was holding some LR for someone an I noticed an aiptasia on one of them. I kept putting off nuking it with kalk until last night. I got my slurry and my syringe ready and as I looked in the fuge section in the sump, it had wandered on the very top of the LR pile. Never seen wandering...
  8. T