Protein skimmer suggestions? - (in sump)

JumboAg99

Membership Expired
[I'm jumping the gun here a bit, since I haven't even found the tank setup/deal that I really want yet, but I want to ask anyway.

My plan is to have something tank wise that's reef-ready in the 75-100 gallon range w/ an appropriately sized sump underneath it.

Based on your experiences (and remember, I'm new to this so ease of use will be a factor) what protein skimmer would you suggest?

I'm not overly concerned with cost. Ideally, a used one will pop up with perfect timing, but I'm not opposed to spending $300-$400 for one new. The going rate for ones that seem to fit the tank size looks to be around $350.

The consensus on Reef Central seems to be that the EuroReef and the AquaC skimmers are pretty good. The pictures of the AquaC show a skimmer that appears to be of more sturdy construction.

I know Marc was using an AquaC on his 55, so that's a good sign.]

[Hi Chris,
I use a AquaC Remora Pro w/Mag 5. Its a HOT and sits in my 29 Gal sump and is rated for tanks over 75 Gallon but i'm unsure of its MAX rating. I got it from reefgeek.com ( he has free shipping ) I believe some of the larger tanks on this board have ESV and Euro Reefs which are awesome too!

Andy]

[I would probably go with an ASM, they are the Euroreef knockoffs. They function just as well, and a bit better IMO than the AquaC's. They can be had for about 200$ new.]

[Yes, I had an EV-200 under my 55g for the 2 years I had that tank. I never adjusted a thing in those two years. Just turned it on, cleaned out the cup and riser tube every few days. I cleaned it thoroughly about two to three times a year.

Andy, the Remora Pro (or Urchin Pro for sump use) is rated for a tank up to 125g.

A Euroreef or ASM (ER knockoff) both will do the job and many love them. Personally, I find them to be a tad too rugged and a little more difficult to clean out. But if one fell into my lap, I'd use it. :p