New to the Hobby taking in A lot of info

jjackson

Membership Expired
I am new to the Saltwater world and super excited to get things going. I started my tank about a week ago and would like to share and also get any advice that i can. My tank right now is as follows.

Innovative Marine SR-60 Rimless
IM Ghost Skimmer
Power Head
50Lbs Real Reef Rock
50lbs live sand

I started the tank day 1 with 2 Ocellaris Clowns and GSP's LFS. They also had me to add a bottle of bio Spira. My tank has remained pretty stable and i am noticing some small brown algae on the top of sand as well as a little on Rocks. I have seen others when cycling the brown algae pretty much take over the tank before turning into green algae and the adding a CUC. Does anyone know is because of the Bio Spira will this not happen, or should i expect this in the next couple of weeks as well?

Against my better judgement i have also added some mushrooms and a couple of other frags that i was told are hardy and should survive the minor cycle that i should have.

alt="">

alt="">

alt="">

It looks real nice to me! I would expect all of the different blooms of diatoms, and algae. You just get clean up snails, and crabs to keep those in check. But they will starve if there is not enough for them to eat, so you learn to get just the right number for your needs. And you wait in the beginning until you get some built up for them to eat. That's my thinking anyway.