Help!  i'm a plumbing idiot

[I spent half the night trying to setup my new sump. My first issue was that the sump wouldn't fit in under the stand.... ah.. if only i had it before i set up the tank... So i set it up behind the tank. Went over to home depot got all the pipping for the return. I have no experience with plumbing so i found the sprinkler system area with lots of precut hosing and tubing that you can screw together.. yippy!!! So i get all the parts needed and the right length. Ok.... get home get everything setup and test the pumps. Pumps test ok but got some air getting in there from some where.... I tighten all the connectors then try again.. same deal. I have some clear hosing plumbed up to the return into the tank so i can see that it's some where in the intake... I also noticed that the pump works so hard that it creates a tornado suction that causes air to mix as well... any ideas on how to kill the bubbles? The fish think it's hurricane season and are just riding the waves...

Demi]

[The bubbles could be entering from the plumbing if you didn't use tape, I'm amazed you have no leaks without using tape. Sometimes depending on the fittings, the lack of tape would act as a venturi and suck air in, rather then leak water out.

If you didn't use tape and there are no leaks, I would say this is deffinetly the issue.

It could also be bubbles in the sump getting sucked up the pump. Pick up a roll of teflon tape and wrap each threaded male piece with a layer or 2 of the tape and put it back together and see. The tape is cheap, like $1.00 at home depot for a roll.]

[Your tornado suction drawing air is what you need to address. The best way to do this is to try and reduce the overall flow at this pump input or ensure that you sump has a higher volume of water within the sump so it can't create the tornado effect. Here are a couple of ideas: