150, 170, or 180 rimless build

jasonbrew

Membership Expired
Hey guys, my mind is going insane with all the info on the forum about different ways to do things. It is really impressive how some of you have built out your systems.

I am in the process of building a 150, 170, or 180 build. I am in the final stages of submitting payment for a custom tank.

On the table for me is a tank that is snug against the wall but a very low space consumption with an internal overflow box. The tank will be 3/4" glass and low iron. the foot prints are up for grabs to 60x24x24, 60x27x24, 72x24x24.

I am upgrading from a DSA neo 65. I run an apex controller and auto water change, auto top off. I dose with 2 part. I want to grow into a heavy SPS tank and then have a decent amount of fish to go with the coral. I have been reefing for 8-10 months. Here are a few questions that I would love to ask you guys.

build list (have and using on the 65)
1) 2 radions
2) 2 mp40
3) 1 mp10
4) reef octopus 200 gal skimmer
5) trigger systems 30" refugium
6) apex
7) media reactor

build list need
1) calc reactor or kalwasser
2) return pump
3) new live sand
4) maybe new rock
5) new fish list

Questions:
1) the tank foot print. Wider or Longer for SPS and fish?
2) a quiet overflow on a rimless is a must for me. (i have attached images of the drawings of the tank build.) Is there a way to have an efficient and space saver internal overflow in the back corner? With a back up dual drain? Like a herbie? but also below the top of the tank so it could be hidden by an overflow cap of some sort? I also want to try to have the returns be 4" below the water line and use loc line to snake it up close to the surface.
3) would 2 overflows in opposite corners be better? Then I could use one drain to feed my refugium in the trigger systems elite.