Hey all

Newbie alert. I just finally got a good place and thinking to start the hobby. I might start with 15sh gal tank but thought to get as much knowledge first. I'll be lurking around

Welcome! Let us know if you can't find an answer or have any question. When you decide what you want to do, start a build log thread so we can see the progress and help along the way. See you around! 

I have been out of the hobby for some time. My advice therefore is likely outdated. But, I recall reading from many experts that 55 gallons was the smallest a beginner wanted to start with.- that may have changed on the near 10 years I've been out.The reason was water stability. In some ways the saltwater animals are hardier than freshwater, but not when it comes to water quality. I believe anything smaller than 55 gallons is called a nanoreef. I've seen some amazing nanotanks but, they require near daily maintenance and water checks (as I understand).  My only tank was 180 gallons so, I am no expert! - good luck!  

Welcome to the hobby rodds45.  Ask plenty of questions.  Just to warn you, your going to get a million different answers.  What works for 1 doesn't mean its going to work for everyone. There is alot of trial and error in this hobby.  But, we have a nice little club here and lots are willing to share their experiences and lend a hand when needed.  

Welcome and good luck always remember this hobby takes allot of patience . Ask questioned and someone will give u there point of view and what knowledge they know allot of great people on here 

Thank you guys for the welcome and wonderful tips! Yeah, I read too a smaller tank is challenging to maintain. I'll be planning further.