180 gal new setup - I need your opnions please....!

[Guys and Gals,

I plan to upgrade my tank to 180 gal room divider, one overflow at one end with 4 holes. The tank dimension is 72x24x25. I have NO experience of working with PVC, bulkhead size, PVC size. I want to have my tank drill for future reference. I plan to keep mix soft and sps which are VHO friendly.

If drill the tank, where would you drill for close loop, and water change purpose? I plan to have it drill on or next to the overflow about 4 to 5 in below water surface.

Please advise on PVC size, bulkhead size for return, drainage, check valve, union. and where to drill.

Thanks,

Louie]

[I would go ahead and drill 2 1.5" bulkhead size holes (for drains) and 2 1" holes for returns.

I would have the closed loop intake as you suggest on one side, again a 1.5 in bulkhead.

Since it is a room divider you will want to build a manifold type device for the closed loop output as you won't be able to drill or go over a side! I would suggest you get a good pressure rated pump like an Iwaki or simular so you can have more discrete (smaller) plumbing for the manifold without losing the flow.

That's a really nice tank BTW. One of my favorite sizes!]

Edited By kwl1763 on 1112112401

[Basically you can plumb say 3/4" plumbing around the top inside of you tank. If it is glass with the standard plastic lip you can drill small holes in the plastic and use zipties to hold the plumbing right against the top where you won't even be able to see it. You then make a circle basically around the edge of the tank and every so often have a T that comes off. How many Ts (outputs) you want will depend on the pump and you flow needs. 4,6,8,10 and I've even seen 12 can be used. to those outlets just a couple locline links are connected then all you see below the water is that very small bit of locline. A brilliant way to do a closed loop that is flexible and not obtrusive!

Here is Calfo's article on it. Calfo Manifold